Intensives

Intensives are fun and fast crash courses. You will learn so much in so little time.

Intensives come in three forms:

  • NYC One-days—Seven hours in one day (with lunch break). Brief lectures alternating with writing exercises. These are in-person classes.
  • Zoom—Two three-hour sessions on separate days. Brief lectures alternating with writing exercises. These classes are taught in real time via the Zoom videoconference platform.
  • Online—Three sessions (each lasting a week) on three consecutive weeks. Written lectures and weekly homework assignments. These classes take place online, not in real time.

(Not all Intensives available in all three forms.)

Intensives are open for writers of any level. Students must be 18 years or older.

Students may reschedule a One-day or Zoom Intensive one time.

If you’re visiting NYC, here is some info on NYC hotels.


  Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Online
Plot 2: Machinations | Level I
3-week Class – 1 spot left
  Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Class full.  Call for wait list.
Online
Plot 1: Mechanics | Level I
3-week Class
  Saturday, February 12, 2022
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Creative Writing 101 | Level I
Two-day Class
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Dialogue | Level I
Two-day Class
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
The Editor’s Eye | Level I
Two-day Class
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Screenwriting | Level I
Two-day Class
  Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Online
Character | Level I
3-week Class
Zoom • 7–10 pm et
Grammar 1: The Basics | Level I
Two-day Class
  Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Online
Plot 1: Mechanics | Level I
3-week Class
  Saturday, February 26, 2022
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Comics and Graphic Novels | Level I
Two-day Class
  Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Online
Dialogue | Level I
3-week Class
  Friday, March 11, 2022
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Grammar 1: The Basics | Level I
Two-day Class
  Saturday, March 12, 2022
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Personal Essay Writing | Level I
Two-day Class
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Grammar 2: Expertise and Finesse | Level I
Two-day Class
  Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Online
Character | Level I
3-week Class
Online
Plot 1: Mechanics | Level I
3-week Class
Online
Plot 2: Machinations | Level I
3-week Class
  Saturday, March 19, 2022
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
How To Get Published | Level I
Two-day Class
  Saturday, April 2, 2022
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Fiction Writing | Level I
Two-day Class
Zoom • 1–4 pm et
Grammar 1: The Basics | Level I
Two-day Class