Susan Breen

Susan Breen

Susan Breen is the author of the novel The Fiction Class (Plume and Headline Review UK), and the Maggie Dove series of mystery books (Random House Alibi). She has published short fiction in American Literary Review, Chattahoochee Review, Nebraska Quarterly, North Dakota Quarterly, anderbo, and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. She holds a BA from the University of Rochester and an MA in Economics from Columbia University.

Teacher Profile

Susan Breen

Teacher Excerpts

The Fiction Class

Maggie Dove

Teacher Articles

12 Techniques for Getting Un-stuck

Enlivening Passive Characters

How to Deal with Criticism

Myths about Point of View

Nine Common Fiction Writing Mistakes

The Opening Paragraph

Turning Real Life Into Fiction

What Short Story Writers Can Learn from Novelists, And Vice Versa

What Writers Can Learn From Reading Mysteries

Writing What You Don't Know