Faculty Bios

We proudly offer the bios of our accomplished teachers.

Jennifer Marie Brissett is the author of the novels Eleusis (Tor Books, forthcoming) and Elysium (Aqueduct Press), winner of the Philip K. Dick Award Special Citation. Her short fiction has appeared in Fantastic Stories, Morpheus Tales, The Future Fire, FIYAH Magazine, Terraform, Thaumatrope, Uncanny Magazine, and Halfway Down The Stairs, and been anthologized in Welcome to Dystopia: 45 Visions of What Lies Ahead (OR Books) and Warrior Wisewoman 2 (Norilana Books). She holds a BS from Boston University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Southern Maine.

Seth Fried is the author of the novel The Municipalists (Penguin) and the short-story collection The Great Frustration (Soft Skull Press/Counterpoint). His short fiction has appeared in the Kenyon Review, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, the Missouri Review, One Story, and Tin House, among many others. His work has been anthologized in the Better of McSweeney’s and the Pushcart Prizes XXV: The Best of the Small Presses, and twice named a Distinguished Story by the editors of the Best American Short Stories series. He is a regular contributor to Shouts & Murmurs in the New Yorker magazine and to NPR's Selected Shorts. He has worked as an assistant editor at the Mid-American Review. He holds a BA from Bowling Green State University.

Justina Ireland is the author of Dread Nation (Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins), a New York Times bestseller in hardcover young adult fiction, the middle-grade novel Star Wars, Flight of the Falcon: Lando’s Luck (Lucasfilm Books), the fantasy young adult novels Vengeance Bound and Promise of Shadows (both Simon and Schuster), and Scream Site (Capstone Editions), a middle-grade thriller. She is also the author of the books in the middle grade fantasy Devils’ Pass series, including Evie Allen vs. the Quiz Bowl Zombies and Zach Lopez vs. the Unicorns of Doom. Her short science fiction and fantasy stories have appeared in the anthologies Feral Youth (Simon and Schuster) and Three Sides of a Heart (HarperCollins). She is editor in chief of FIYAH Literary Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction, for which she won a World Fantasy AwardShe holds a BA from Armstrong Atlantic University and an MFA from Hamline University. 

Cleve Lamison is the author of the novel Full-Blood Half-Breed (Penguin Random House), and he is a contributing writer to Suvudu.com, a science fiction and fantasy blog at Random House. He is a staff writer for the television show Craig Ross Jr.’s Monogamy (Urban Movie Channel), and he wrote the screenplay for and directed the feature film Following Bliss, which won Best Feature Film at the Global Arts International Film Festival and was an official selection at many others, including the Stratford Upon Avon Film Festival, the Houston Black Film Festival, the Great Lakes Film Festival, and the Dances With Films Film Festival. His short film The Story won the Denver World Film Festival, and his short film Jack for President was a runner-up in the New York 24-Hour Filmmaking Contest. He was the artistic director of the BlackBird Theatre Company in New York City, created, wrote, and drew the cartoon strip Rick the Roach for the Richmond News Leader, and is a veteran of the U.S. Army Reserves. He holds a BA from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Carolyn MacCullough is the author of the young adult novels, Falling Through Darkness (Roaring Book Press), one of the New York Public Library Best Books for the Teen Age, Stealing Henry (Roaring Brook Press), Once a Witch (Graphia), Always a Witch (Graphia), and Drawing the Ocean. She also teaches at the New School. She holds a BA from Grinnell College and an MFA in Creative Writing from the New School.

Robert Repino is the author of the novels Mort(e), (named one of iO9's Very Best Science Fiction and Fantasy novels of the year), Culdesacand D'Arc (all Soho Press), all part of the "War With No Name" series. He is also the author of the middle-grade novel Spark and the League of Ursus (Quirk Books) and the novella Leap High Yahoo (Kindle Singles). His short fiction has appeared in Literary Review, Coachella Review, Wild Violet, Juked Nickel Steak, Knee Jerk, Night Train, Hobart, Ghoti, Furnace Review, and Word Riot. He has served as an editor with the Oxford University Press and is a regular contributor to Tor.com. He holds a BA from St. Joseph’s University and an MFA in Creative Writing from Emerson College.

Michaela Roessner is the author of novels The Stars Compel, The Stars Dispose, Vanishing Point (Tor Books) and Walkabout Woman. She has published short fiction in Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine, The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, OMNI Magazine, Strange Plasma, Room Magazineand various anthologies, including Conqueror Fantastic, Intersectionsand Full Spectrum2. She has taught at the Clarion Writers’ Workshop at Michigan State University and Western State Colorado University of Colorado. She holds a BFA from the California College of Arts and Crafts and an MFA in Popular Fiction from the University of Southern Maine/Stonecoast Creative Writing program.